Free Higher Education. free tuition in SUC

Students back free tuition in SUCs, call it way to better future

“We now have a chance to rise from poverty and have a better future”.

 Thus said Jen Mark Calub, an aviation communication student at the Philippine State College of Aeronautics (PhilSCA), as he welcomed the proposed free tuition in state colleges and universities (SUCs).

 As a student regent, Calub is aware of the situation that financially challenged students undergo, especially when it comes to payment of tuition fee and other school charges.

 “Every enrollment, students asking for more time to pay their tuition fee due to lack of financial capacity is a common sight in our school,” said Calub.

 “The most common reason is the meager salaries of their parents while other students have to work for their tuition fee,” added Calub.

 Calub said PhilSCA students are now optimistic about finishing their college degree through the help of Senate Bill No. 1304 or the “Free Higher Education for All Act”, principally sponsored by Sen. Bam Aquino.

Currently being tackled in the plenary, the measure seeks to provide free tuition fee to all students in SUCs.

 “When we learned about the measure, we now believe that there is still hope for those who want to continue with their education at PhilSCA,” said Calub.

Tristen Jamon, supreme student council president at PhilSCA’s Basa Palmayo Campus, echoed Calub’s view, saying the measure will inspire students to finish their dream degree.

“Ito ang magbibigay sa amin ng pagkakataon upang makamit ang aming mga pangarap at magsisilbing motibasyon upang pagsikapan pang lalo ang aming pag-aaral,” he said.

 A student from the University of the Philippines-Diliman who requested anonymity, said the measure, if passed into law, will help Iskolars ng Bayan like him hurdle financial obstacles that hamper their studies.

 Aside from Sen. Bam, other authors of the measure are Sens. Ralph Recto, Joel Villanueva, Sherwin Gatchalian, Francis Pangilinan, Sonny Angara, Loren Legarda, Leila de Lima, Cynthia Villar, Juan Miguel Zubiri and Richard Gordon.

Scroll to top